Lukas Sternath

Pianist

Already at a very early age, Lukas Sternath’s life revolved around music. Born in Vienna in 2001, he traveled the world as member of the famed Vienna Boys’ Choir and gave concerts on the most important stages in Europe, North America and Asia. He received his musical training on the piano from Anna Malikova and Alma Sauer at the University of Music and Performing Arts in Vienna. Since 2022 he studies in the class of Igor Levit at the University of Music, Drama and Media in Hanover. Further mentors include pianists Till Fellner, as well as Ingolf Wunder and Sir András Schiff, whose masterclasses he attended.

At the 71st International ARD Music Competition in Munich in September 2022, Lukas Sternath caused a sensation – in addition to the First Prize, he was awarded seven special prizes, including the Audience Prize and the Prize for the Best Interpretation of the Commissioned Composition. The year before he was a multiple prizewinner at the 63rd International Ferruccio Busoni Piano Competition in Bolzano, at the 14th International Schubert Piano Competition in Dortmund and at the 17th European Piano Competition in Bremen.

In addition to numerous concert appearances in German-speaking countries, including at the Wiener Musikverein and the Wiener Konzerthaus, the collaboration with the Munich Chamber Orchestra and the Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra under the baton of Joshua Weilerstein are highlights of his career to date. A passionate chamber musician, Lukas Sternath regularly performs with well-known ensembles such as the Simply Quartet and the Schumann Quartet.

Exclusive Worldwide Management:
Kristin Schuster, Classic Concerts Management GmbH

[Revised 14 October 2022. Please disregard any pre-existing biographical information. Thank you.]

Lukas Sternath

Pianist

Schon früh drehte sich im Leben von Lukas Sternath alles um die Musik. 2001 in Wien geboren, bereiste er bereits als Wiener Sängerknabe die Welt und konzertierte auf den großen Bühnen Europas, Nordamerikas und Asiens. Seine musikalische Ausbildung am Klavier erhielt er bei Anna Malikova und Alma Sauer an der Universität für Musik und darstellende Kunst Wien. 2022 absolvierte er die Aufnahmeprüfung an der Hochschule für Musik, Theater und Medien Hannover und studiert dort in der Klasse von Igor Levit. Zu seinen weiteren Mentoren zählen Till Fellner sowie Ingolf Wunder und Sir András Schiff, bei welchen er Meisterklassen besuchte.

Beim 71. Internationalen ARD-Musikwettbewerb in München im September 2022 sorgte Lukas Sternath für Aufsehen – ihm wurden neben dem 1. Preis sieben Sonderpreise zugesprochen, unter anderen der Publikumspreis sowie der Preis für die Beste Interpretation der Auftragskomposition. Im Jahr zuvor war er mehrfacher Preisträger beim 63. Internationalen Ferruccio Busoni Klavierwettbewerb in Bozen, beim 14. Internationalen Schubert Klavierwettbewerb in Dortmund und beim 17. Europäischen Klavierwettbewerb in Bremen.

Neben zahlreichen Konzertauftritten im deutschsprachigen Raum, darunter im Wiener Musikverein und im Wiener Konzerthaus, zählt die Zusammenarbeit mit dem Münchener Kammerorchester und dem Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks unter der Leitung von Joshua Weilerstein zu den bisherigen Höhepunkten seiner Karriere. Als leidenschaftlicher Kammermusiker musiziert er mit so namhaften Ensembles wie dem Simply Quartet und dem Schumann Quartett.

Exclusive Worldwide Management:
Kristin Schuster, Classic Concerts Management GmbH

[Revised 14 October 2022. Please disregard any pre-existing biographical information. Thank you.]