Philippe Herreweghe

Conductor

Philippe Herreweghe was born in Ghent and studied at both the university and music conservatory there, studying piano with Marcel Gazelle. During this period he started conducting and founded Collegium Vocale Gent in 1970. He was invited by Nikolaus Harnoncourt and Gustav Leonhardt, who had noticed his innovative work, to participate in their recordings of the complete cantatas of J.S. Bach.

Herreweghe’s energetic, authentic and rhetorical approach to baroque music was soon drawing praise. In 1977 he founded the ensemble La Chapelle Royale in Paris, with whom he performed music of the French Golden Age. From 1982 to 2002 he was artistic director of the Académies Musicales de Saintes. During this period, he founded several ensembles with whom he made historically appropriate and well-thought-out interpretations of repertoire stretching from the Renaissance to contemporary music. They include the Ensemble Vocal Européen, specialised in Renaissance polyphony, and the Orchestre des Champs Élysées, founded in 1991 with the aim of playing pre-Romantic and Romantic repertoire on original instruments. Since 2009, Philippe Herreweghe and Collegium Vocale Gent have been actively working on the development of a large European-level symphonic choir. Since 2001 Philippe Herreweghe is artistic director of the Accademia delle Crete Senesi, from 2017 onwards known as the Collegium Vocale Crete Senesi festival in Tuscany, Italy.

Philippe Herreweghe continually seeks out new musical challenges, and has been very active performing the great symphonic repertoire, from Beethoven to Stravinsky. Since 1997 he is attached to the Antwerp Symphony Orchestra (deFilharmonie) both as principal and guest conductor. He is also in great demand as a guest conductor with orchestras such as Amsterdam’s Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra, the Gewandhaus Orchestra in Leipzig, the Scottish Chamber Orchestra or the Tonhalle Orchester Zürich. In the upcoming seasons projects with the Sächsische Staatkapelle Dresden, at the Music Festival Berlin, with the Cleveland Orchestra, the Philharmonia Orchestra London as well as at the Salzburg Easter Festival are planned.

Over the years, Philippe Herreweghe has built up an extensive discography of more than 100 recordings with all these different ensembles, on such labels as Harmonia Mundi France, Virgin Classics and Pentatone. Highlights include the Lagrime di San Pietro of Lassus, Bach’s St. Matthew Passion, the complete symphonies of Beethoven and Schumann, Mahler’s song cycle Des Knaben Wunderhorn, Bruckner’s Symphony No. 5, Pierrot Lunaire by Schönberg and the Symphony of Psalms by Stravinsky. In 2010 he founded together with Outhere Music his own label φ (PHI. Since then more than 25 new recordings with music from William Byrd till Igor Stravinsky have become available. Recent recordings include Carlo Gesualdo’s Sixth Book of Madrigals (LPH024), Johannes Brahms’ Symphony No.4 (LPH025) and Du treuer Gott (LPH027) with Leipzig cantatas by J.S.Bach.

Philippe Herreweghe has received numerous European awards for his consistent artistic imagination and commitment. In 1990 the European music press named him “Musical Personality of the Year”. Herreweghe and Collegium Vocale Gent were appointed “Cultural Ambassadors of Flanders” in 1993. A year later he was awarded the Belgian order of Officier des Arts et Lettres, and in 1997 he was awarded an honorary doctorate from the Catholic University of Leuven. In 2003 he received the French title Chevalier de la Légion d’Honneur. Lastly, in 2010 the city of Leipzig awarded him its Bach-Medaille for his great service as a performer of Bach. In 2017 Philippe Herreweghe received an honorary doctorate at Ghent University.

Philippe Herreweghe

Dirigent

Philippe Herreweghe wurde in Gent geboren und kombinierte dort sein Universitätsstudium mit einer musikalischen Ausbildung am Konservatorium, wo er Klavierunterricht bei Marcel Gazelle erhielt. Zur selben Zeit begann er zu dirigieren und gründete 1970 das Collegium Vocale Gent. Nikolaus Harnoncourt und Gustav Leonhardt bemerkten seine außergewöhnliche Vorgehensweise und luden ihn ein, an der Aufnahme sämtlicher Bach-Kantaten mitzuarbeiten.

Schon bald wurde Herreweghes lebendiger, authentischer und rhetorischer Ansatz der Barockmusik gelobt, und 1977 gründete er in Paris das Ensemble La Chapelle Royale, mit dem er Musik des französischen Goldenen Zeitalters zur Aufführung brachte. Von 1982 bis 2002 war er Künstlerischer Leiter der Académies Musicales de Saintes. Zu dieser Zeit schuf er verschiedene Ensembles, mit denen er eine adäquate und gründliche Lesart eines Repertoires von der Renaissance bis zu zeitgenössischer Musik zu geben wusste. So war das Ensemble Vocal Européen auf Renaissancepolyphonie spezialisiert und das 1991 gegründete Orchestre des Champs-Élysées zur Interpretation des romantischen und vorromantischen Repertoires auf Originalinstrumenten. Seit 2009 arbeitet Philippe Herreweghe aktiv mit dem Collegium Vocale Gent an der Entwicklung eines großen symphonischen Chores auf europäischer Ebene. Seit 2001 ist er künstlerischer Leiter der Accademia delle Crete Senesi, dem toskanischen Sommerfestival, das seit 2017 unter dem Namen Collegium Vocale Crete Senesi bekannt ist.

Auf der Suche nach musikalischen Herausforderungen ist Philippe Herreweghe seit einiger Zeit im großen symphonischen Repertoire von Beethoven bis Strawinsky sehr aktiv. Seit 1997 ist er Dirigent des Antwerp Symphony Orchestra (deFilharmonie). Darüber hinaus ist er ein gefragter Gastdirigent bei Orchestern wie dem Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra Amsterdam, dem Gewandhausorchester Leipzig, dem Scottish Chamber Orchestra oder dem Tonhalle Orchester Zürich. In den kommenden Spielzeiten sind Engagements bei der Sächsischen Staatskapelle Dresden, beim Musikfest Berlin, beim Cleveland Orchestra, dem Philharmonia Orchestra London sowie bei den Osterfestspielen Salzburg geplant.

Mit all seinen Ensembles errichtete Philippe Herreweghe im Laufe der Jahre bei den Labels Harmonia Mundi France, Virgin Classics und Pentatone eine umfangreiche Diskographie von mehr als hundert Aufnahmen. Höhepunkt sind unter anderem die Lagrime di San Pietro von Orlando di Lasso, die Matthäus-Passion von Bach, sämtliche Sinfonien von Beethoven und Schumann, Mahlers Liedzyklus Des Knaben Wunderhorn, Bruckners Sinfonie Nr.5, Schönbergs Pierrot Lunaire und die Symphonie de Psaumes von Strawinsky. Im Jahr 2010 startete ein neues Aufnahmeprojekt, bei dem Philippe Herreweghe zusammen mit Outhere-Music sein eigenes Label PHI (PHI) gründete. Mittlerweile liegen mehr als 25 Aufnahmen mit Musik von William Byrd bis Igor Strawinsky vor. Zu den jüngsten Aufnahmen gehören das Sechste Madrigalbuch von Carlo Gesualdo (LPH024), die Vierte Symphonie von Johannes Brahms (LPH025) und Du treuer Gott (LPH027) mit Kantaten von J. S. Bach.

Wegen seiner konsequenten künstlerischen Vision und seines Engagements wurde Philippe Herreweghe verschiedentlich geehrt. 1990 wählte ihn die europäische Musikpresse zur „Musikpersönlichkeit des Jahres.“ Zusammen mit dem Collegium Vocale Gent wurde Philippe Herreweghe zum „Kulturbotschafters Flanderns“ ernannt. Ein Jahr später wurde ihm der Orden des Officier des Arts et Lettre zuerkannt, und 1997 erhielt er einen Doktor honoris causa der Katholischen Universität Leuven. 2003 empfing er in Frankreich den Titel eines Chevalier de la Légion d’Honneur. Im Jahre 2010 schließlich verlieh die Stadt Leipzig Philippe Herreweghe die Bach-Medaille für seine großen Verdienste als Bach-Interpret. Im Jahr 2017 erhielt Philippe Herreweghe die Ehrendoktorwürde der Universität Gent.