Kremerata Baltica

GIDON KREMER – ARTISTIC DIRECTOR

 In 1997, Austria’s legendary Lockenhaus chamber music festival was witness to a small

revolution when, beside many distinguished musicians, the violinist Gidon Kremer presented

the brand new orchestra Kremerata Baltica, comprising 23 outstanding young musicians from Latvia, Lithuania and Estonia. The orchestra has since captivated audiences worldwide with playing of unrestrained joy and ist repertoire.

Kremerata Baltica arose from Gidon Kremer’s determination to share his rich experience with young colleagues from the Baltic States.

In addition to exploring works from the classical repertoire, Kremerata Baltica has also delivered world premieres of compositions by, among others, Lera Auerbach, Leonid Desyatnikov, Giya Kancheli, Arvo Pärt, Georgs Pēlecis, Alexander Raskatov, Valentin Silvestrov, Victor Kissine, Sofia Gubaidulina and Pēteris Vasks.

Kremerata Baltica’s repertoire breadth is reflected in an award-winning discography that spans everything from Mozart’s complete violin concertos with Gidon Kremer, Enescu’s Octet and Astor Piazzolla’s Tango Ballet to first recordings of music by Kancheli, Kissine and Pärt. After Mozart, recorded by Nonesuch, won Grammy and ECHO Klassik awards in 2002, while albums of works by George Enescu and Mieczysław Weinberg have since secured Grammy Award nominations.

Kremerata Baltica has performed in over 50 countries, presenting over 1,000 concerts in 600 cities. It makes regular appearances at many concert series and festivals, including Berlin’s Schloss Neuhardenberg, Bavaria’s Schloss Elmau and others.

The ensemble has broadened its work in recent years to include “To Russia with Love”, a concert staged at Berlin’s Philharmonie in 2013 to promote the cause of human rights in Russia, and its latest creative project, “Pictures from the East”, a collaborative venture with Syrian artist Nizar Ali Badr.

Since 2003 Kremerata Baltica has held its own Festival in Latvia.

Kremerata Baltica celebrated its 20th anniversary and Gidon Kremer’s 70th birthday year in the season 2016/17 with tours in the Middle East, United States, Europe and Asia under the baton of Gidon Kremer.

Kremerata Baltica

GIDON KREMER – KÜNSTLERISCHE LEITUNG

 

Im Jahr 1997 revolutionierte die Kremerata Baltica das legendäre Kammermusikfest in

Lockenhaus. An der Seite vieler renommierter Stars präsentierte der Geiger Gidon Kremer seinem Publikum ein neues Orchester namens Kremerata Baltica. 23 junge Musikerinnen und Musiker aus Lettland, Litauen und Estland eroberten das burgenländische Dorf im Sturm. Seitdem begeistert das Orchester mit seiner uneingeschränkten Spielfreude und seinen Programmen Konzertbesucher in aller Welt.

Die Kremerata Baltica entstand aus Gidon Kremers tiefem inneren Bedürfnis, seinen reichen Erfahrungsschatz mit jungen Kollegen aus dem Baltikum zu teilen. Ein pädagogisches Projekt mit einer langfristigen Perspektive, das höchsten künstlerischen Ansprüchen genügt.

Neben dem klassischen Repertoire erarbeitet die Kremerata Baltica auch Uraufführungen von Komponisten wie Lera Auerbach, Leonid Desyatnikov, Giya Kancheli, Arvo Pärt, Georgs Pēlecis, Alexander Raskatov, Valentin Silvestrov, Victor Kissine, Sofia Gubaidulina und Pēteris Vasks.

Das breite Repertoire der Kremerata Baltica spiegelt sich in der Diskographie des Ensembles wider, die von sämtlichen Mozart-Violinkonzerten mit Gidon Kremer über Enescus Streichoktett und Piazzollas Tango Ballet bis zu Ersteinspielungen von Werken von Kancheli, Kissine und Pärt reicht. After Mozart, erschienen bei Nonesuch Records, gewann 2002 einen Grammy Award sowie einen ECHO Klassik, und die Alben mit Werken von George Enescu und Mieczysław Weinberg wurden für Grammys nominiert.

Die Kremerata Baltica war im Rahmen ihrer Konzerte bereits mit über 1000 Werken in 600 Städten in mehr als 50 Ländern zu Gast. Sie tritt regelmäßig bei Konzertreihen und Festivals auf, darunter auf Schloss Neuhardenberg bei Berlin, auf Schloss Elmau in Bayern und beim Kammermusikfest Lockenhaus.

Gesellschaftspolitisch engagierte sich das Ensemble unter anderem 2013 mit seinem Konzert To Russia with Love in der Berliner Philharmonie, das auf die Menschenrechtslage in Russland aufmerksam machen wollte und mit seinem jüngsten kreativen Projekt Pictures from the East, das in Zusammenarbeit mit dem syrischen Künstler Nizar Ali Badr entstand.

Seit 2003 veranstaltet die Kremerata Baltica ihr eigenes Festival in Sigulda in der Lettischen Schweiz.

In der Saison 2016/17 feierte die Kremerata Baltica ihr 20-jähriges Bestehen sowie den 70. Geburtstag von Guidon Kremer mit neun Konzerten in den USA und einer Jubiläums-Tournee durch Europa unter der Leitung von Gidon Kremer.